Posts

Kew Gardens and Richmond Palace

Weather forecast predicted that the rain would clear by 10am, which was good timing, as I had arranged to catch up with my friend Ruth at that time. Stayed grey all day but we did not get rained upon, fortunately.

Not a lot of flowers out yet, but it was great to see such a variety of trees that are unfamiliar to me. Ruth even pointed out some holly (pun not intended!) – I have only ever seen the plastic or fabric variety 🙂

Kew Gardens, view towards the Palm House
Kew Gardens, view towards the Palm House (Lautrec, 2024)
Holly bush (Lautrec, 2024)
Queen Charlotte”s Cottage (Lautrec, 2024)
Pagoda (Lautrec, 2024)

Near Kew Palace is a lovely old building, known as Queen Charlotte’s Cottage. It started life as the home of a menagerie keeper and was then converted for use by Charlotte and her husband King George III as a retreat. You can read more about the cottage and the family on the Kew Palace website.

Fun fact for my fellow Aussies, the cottage paddock housed the first kangaroos that were brought to England, in the 1790s.

A short bus trip (my first ever London double decker!) to Richmond to see the remains of Richmond Palace. As my father’s Redknap line were watermen, with at least two of them royal watermen, they probably picked up and dropped off passengers here!

Richmond Palace now luxury housing (Lautrec, 2024)
Steps to the river that my watermen may have used (Lautrec, 2024)