Matthews, Nekerwis, Pollard, Posts

Madron and St Just in Penwith

Almost two hundred years ago, a young dairy maid from Madron was convicted for stealing a shirt valued at 3 shillings. If it were not for this act, I would not be here today.

My great great great grandmother, Lydia Matthews, was baptised in Madron in 1813. Her parents were Charles Matthews and Jenifer Pollard. Lydia was their youngest child and the only one to be baptised in Madron, as the others were all baptised in Charles’ home town, St Hilary.

Lydia’s mother’s line is associated with Madron for many generations. The earliest record that I have found is the baptism in 1646 of my eight times great grandfather, Jehu Pollard. Her father died in 1823 and her mother in 1824. Losing both parents at an early age no doubt had a big impact on Lydia and may account for her crime.

At age 15, Lydia was convicted at Devon Quarter Sessions and sentenced to seven years transportation as a convict. She arrived in Australia in 1829 on the ship Sovereign. Two years later she was charged for her involvement in a riot in the Parramatta Female Factory and sentenced to three years in Newcastle Gaol. While in Newcastle she met her first husband, John Shaw, and they married in 1832. He died in 1841 and she then married Robert Webb in 1844. I have not yet been able to determine whether I am descended from John or Robert (or another unidentified man!). [1]

A little bit about Madron

Madron is a parish and village in the county of Cornwall, just 15 minutes north of Penzance.

A text written in 1730, Hals’ History of Cornwall, recounts a story about the origin of the name, Madern: ‘Galfridus Monmouthensis tells us in his Chronicle that one Madan was a British King in these Parts before Julius Cæsar landed in Britain, and probably that he lived or died here, in memory of whom this parish is called Madran, now Maddarne.’

Madron was record in the Domesday Book, within the manor of Alverton. Like Hampton, this church was once under the control of the Knights Hospitallers of Jerusalem.

Madron Parish Church

Madron is named after Saint Madern’s Church, which used to be the mother church of the Penzance region. It is unclear if Saint Madern and King Madan were the same person, or if it is just a matter of two different origin stories.

(Lautrec, 2024)

The whole timing of my trip to Cornwall was based around visiting this church, as it is only open to visitors for at this time of year for one hour each Friday. The bus from Penzance only goes to Madron once an hour and I was unclear about where it would stop and if I could get back again, so instead I used a local taxi. Very pleasant and helpful driver, even came and picked me up again after I had finished!

The church is a grade 1 Listed building (the highest level of protection) and was consecrated in 1336. I am still having trouble getting my head around buildings this old, as Australia’s oldest building dates to 1793 (Elizabeth Farm in Parramatta).

13th century section of Madron Parish Church (Lautrec, 2024)
Carved pews in the 13th century section of Madron Parish Church (Lautrec, 2024)

I was made to feel very welcome by the staff and volunteers at the church, a few of whom stopped to chat to me about the church and my family connections.

Gorgeous stained glass windows inside Madron Parish Church (Lautrec, 2024)

The graveyard no longer accepts burials and is maintained by the County Council and volunteers. I know of 8-10 family members buried there, but I had no expectations of finding their gravestones. I was right. Of the visible headstones, the earliest dated from about the mid 1800s, so mine are probably somewhere below them.

I did find one headstone with the family name, Pollard, but I will need to do some research to determine how I am connected to them.

Grave of Joseph Pollard, died 1871 and wife Ann, died 1875 (Lautrec, 2024)
Madron Parish Church graveyard (Lautrec, 2024)

Family burials, marriages & baptisms in Madron

  • Lydia Matthews, 3xgreat grandmother, baptised 1813
  • Lydia’s mother Jennifer Matthews (nee Pollard), d1824
  • Jennifer’s parents, John Pollard d1775 and Lydia Nekerwis d1813
  • John’s parents, Christopher Pollard d1770 and Mary Ellis d1764
  • John’s grandparents, John Pollard d1739 and perhaps wife Ann
  • John’s great grandparents, Jehu Pollard d1709 and perhaps wife Joan
  • Jehu’s parents, John Pollard d1658 and perhaps wife Mary

St Just in Penwith

Lydia’s maternal grandmother was Lydia Nekerwis (aka Nankerwis), from St Just in Penwith. St Just is a town and parish, west of Penzance. My helpful taxi driver took me from Madron to St Just, waited while I explored for a bit, then took me back to Penzance.

Beautiful vistas on the road to St Just (Lautrec, 2024)

The St Just Parish church is dedicated to St Just. I was unable to find any information about the identity of Saint Just. There was a medieval church on the site, but current one dates from the 15th century. The external design is almost identical to the church in Madron.

Unfortunately, the church was not open, so I had to content myself with the exterior and the graveyards.

St Just Parish Church (Lautrec, 2024)

Family burials, marriages & baptisms in St Just

  • Lydia Matthews’ grandmother, Lydia Nekerwis, baptised 1742
  • Parents: Christopher Nekerwis, baptised 1712 died 1742 married 1737 to Martha (nee Reynolds) baptised 1717, died 1789
  • Grandfathers: Charles Ankerwis, baptised 1680 died 1736 married 1703 to Jane Edwards; James Reynolds baptised 1689 died 1747 (burial not found)
  • Great grandfather: John Ankerwis, baptised 1651 died 1727 married 1679 to wife Joan William, died 1725 (need burial records)
  • 2x great grandfather: Henry Ankerwis baptised 1822, died 1696 (need records) married Elizabeth Philips in 1649
  • 3x great grandfather: John Nankervis, unconfirmed 1585-1630, married Mary about 1610
Headstone, St Just Parish Church yard (Lautrec, 2024)
Down an almost hidden pathway labelled Old Churchyard, lie more burials behind St Just Parish Church (Lautrec, 2024)

Wikitree game of connections

The only key people in this location are on my direct line, so I have not listed my connections. However, if you want to see how you are connected to them you can check these on Wikitree:

  • Lydia Matthews – Matthews-3745
  • Jennifer Pollard – Pollard-1418
  • Lydia Nekerwis – Nekerwis-7
  • Jehu Pollard – Pollard-1423